AAVA Awards

2024 Lifetime Achievement Award

Richfield, Ohio

Dr. Neal Sivula (Ohio State ’85), Richfield, Ohio, won this award given to an AAVA member who has dedicated at least 10 years to the teaching and promotion of veterinary acupuncture and traditional Chinese and Eastern veterinary medicine in the United States.

Dr. Sivula received his DVM from the Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine. He completed an Internship, Clinical Residency, and PhD from the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. He is certified in Animal Chiropractic from the College of Animal Chiropractors (COAC) and the American Veterinary Chiropractic Association (AVCA), in Veterinary Acupuncture from the International Veterinary Acupuncture Society (IVAS), and in Veterinary Chinese Herbalism and Food Therapy from the Chi Institute of Traditional Chinese Veterinary Medicine.  He also holds an advanced acupuncture certification from the American Academy of Veterinary Acupuncture (Fellow of the AAVA).  Dr. Sivula is also a Usui Reiki Master and a Zen Buddhist Priest.

Dr. Sivula is a past board member of the AVCA, COAC, and the AAVA. He is also a past President of both the AAVA and the American Holistic Veterinary Medical Association (AHVMA), an Executive Editor of the American Journal of Traditional Chinese Veterinary Medicine, Chair of the Integrative Medicine Committee for the Ohio Veterinary Medical Association, and Chair of the Advanced Certification Committee of the AAVA. He has served as the AAVA’s Delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates and is a current faculty member for the College of Integrative Veterinary Therapies.

Dr. Sivula is the founder of Dancing Paws Animal Wellness Center, an Integrative Veterinary Practice in Richfield Ohio.  Dancing Paws offers patients personalized care using both traditional and holistic methods.  The holistic therapies include acupuncture, chiropractic, nutrition, rehabilitation (including underwater treadmill therapy), and Chinese and Western herbal medicines.

Past Award Winners

Yann Ching Hwang 2004
Marvin Cain 2007
John Limehouse 2008
Kevin May 2009
Allen Schoen 2010
Terry Durkes 2011

Gary Levy 2012
Kerry Ridgway 2013
Shelly Altman 2014
Priscilla Taylor Limehouse 2014
Robert Schwyzer 2015
Michelle Tilghman 2017

Mona Boudreaux 2018
Linda Boggie 2019
Michelle Schraeder 2022